‘I want you to tell me a story about penguins!’

Once upon a time there were three penguins, who lived with their mother on an iceberg. One day they decided to go out and seek their fortune.

The first penguin went out on the iceberg and met a man with a load of snowflakes. ‘Excuse me, sir,’ she said. ‘Can I have these snowflakes to build a house?’ ‘Certainly,’ the man said. So the penguin built herself a house of snowflakes.

The second penguin went out on the iceberg and met a man with a load of seal blubber. ‘Excuse me, sir,’ she said. ‘Can I have this seal blubber to build a house?’ ‘Certainly,’ the man said. So the penguin built herself a house of seal blubber.

The third penguin went out on the iceberg and met a man with a load of ice blocks. ‘Excuse me, sir,’ she said. ‘Can I have these blocks of ice to build a house?’ ‘Certainly,’ the man said, ‘I can find plenty more – this is an iceberg.’ So the penguin built herself a house of ice blocks.

The first penguin lived happily in her snowflake house until, by and by, a polar bear came along. ‘Little penguin, little penguin, let me in!’ the polar bear said. ‘Not by the hair on my chinny … beaky … beak … thing,’ said the penguin. ‘I’ll huff and I’ll puff and I’ll blow your house down,’ the polar bear said. So he huffed, and puffed, and blew the snowflake house down. But the little penguin jumped out of the window and ran off to join her sister in the house of seal blubber, and they lived together and were happy.

By and by, the polar bear came along. ‘Little penguins, little penguins, let me in!’ said the polar bear. ‘Not by the … no, we won’t!’ said the penguins. ‘I’ll huff and I’ll puff and I’ll … eat this house, ’cause it looks pretty tasty,’ said the polar bear. So while the polar bear was eating the house made of seal blubber, the little penguins ran off and joined their sisters in the house of ice blocks, and they were very happy.

By and by, the polar bear came along. ‘Little penguins, little penguins, let me in!’ said the polar bear. ‘No’, the penguins replied. ‘I’ll chew my way through these ice blocks,’ said the polar bear. So it took a big bite out of the house made of ice blocks, but it broke its tooth on the ice. ‘Ow! Yipe, yipe, yipe!’ shouted the polar bear, and it dived off the iceberg into the sea and swam away, never to return.

And the three penguins lived happily ever after in their house made of ice blocks.

About emilyallwright

I'm an American living in England with my husband and small child. I'm interested in sustainable living and old-fashioned skills, detective fiction and folk music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

