Easy-Peasy Cheesecakes

I didn’t know there were cooking shows for children until recently, but it really is a fabulous idea. Cbeebies has at least two that we’ve seen, ‘I Can Cook’ and ‘Big Cook Little Cook’, and Small Boy enjoys both. He invariably wants to cook whatever he’s seen prepared, especially if it’s on ‘I Can Cook’, which shows small children preparing an easy dish and then eating it. I’ll do whatever we have the ingredients for, because I like seeing him enthused about cooking.

‘Easy-peasy pizzas’ are a favourite, along with tarts and cakes of all kinds, but probably the easiest recipe I’ve seen is for individual Lemon and Lime Cheesecakes. I’m not going to reproduce the show’s recipe here, because I changed it completely (we simply didn’t have mascarpone cheese, fresh lemons or limes). Here’s our take on it: 

Ingredients

  • 3 digestive biscuits (with or without chocolate, but I think the chocolate goes beautifully with the lemon and lime juice in the cheesecake)
  • 200 grams cream cheese
  • 3 T yoghurt
  • 2 T icing sugar
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 1 T lime juice

You’ll also need some small glasses to hold your cheesecakes. We usually make 3 individual cheesecakes from this recipe.

Crush digestive biscuits and put equal amounts of biscuit crumbs into each glass.

In a medium-sized bowl, combine all the other ingredients and beat together until smooth (a good job for a child with a wooden spoon). Then spoon into the glasses on top of your biscuit-crumb crust. Serve immediately.

About emilyallwright

I'm an American living in England with my husband and small child. I'm interested in sustainable living and old-fashioned skills, detective fiction and folk music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

